Two Extremes…

Today happened to be a day of extremes. From last four days I am taking placement orientation sessions in an engineering college situated at a small district of M.P. One of the exercise was Group Discussion, and to make the already shy batch open up I was giving very general topics related to Cricket, Movies, Co education etc.

One of the group voluntary took Love Vs Arranged Marriage as their GD topic. They were slowly trying to open up. One girl was vigorously advocating love marriages, she wanted to snap back at every one who said anything against marriage by choice or marriage based on love.

But you know what she asked after making couple of entries? Mam, can I say L instead of Love? It took me few moments to decipher her request. I was like no not at all.

And then I realized how embarrassing it was getting for her.  Sitting in between two guys, in a class where every other girl thought falling in love is a crime; she was not only mentioning love but advocating it.

Though I was happy with the progress the batch and I together made in last four days. From not speaking a word to voluntary coming in front, from totally native Hindi accent to attempting broken English, from keeping two feet distance with their male/female counterparts to sitting next to each other and having a healthy discussion.  And in the world where we openly discuss Love, Sex, Dhoka, Relationships, Past, Personal Moments, Love Stories…her simple question and helplessness in her eyes hit me hard.

On the other hand, an hour back I accidentally bumped into the confessions page of my school. Have you heard of such pages which are making rounds on all the social media platforms recently? The sister mentioned that nearly all the famous colleges and schools have it like IIT Confessions, BITS Goa Confessions etc etc. where people/pass outs/current students anonymously share confessions about anything.

Assuming it would be all the funny, witty incidents I started scrolling down. To my surprise the only confessions some 14 – 17 years old students made were about making out sessions in school premises, using such dirty words and language, I never knew students of my almamater could ever speak. Badmouthing each other at such level that broke my heart. I felt sick. I had to take this out of my system.

The extremes, the disparities, the gaps are bothering me somewhere.

 

6 thoughts on “Two Extremes…

  1. vishalbheeroo March 16, 2013 at 10:10 pm Reply

    Think society is changing with the younger generation doing thing their own way. As someone remarked, our gen don’t ask wat’s morally correct or not but what works for us:)

    Cheers
    Vishal
    http://www.vishalbheeroo.wordpress.com

    • OHW March 20, 2013 at 6:00 pm Reply

      So much for doing things our own way, saddening more than often.

  2. techie2mom March 19, 2013 at 4:33 pm Reply

    The thinking of youngsters seems to be poles apart in metros and small towns…It will be good if we could get some balance!!!!

    • OHW March 20, 2013 at 5:58 pm Reply

      I can’t agree more, thts the whole point actually.

  3. kismitoffeebar March 20, 2013 at 5:52 pm Reply

    I am seeing a lot of this confessions page opening up on FB. I am not sure if the real intention behind it is being served but it sure does open up some mixed sentiments, I guess.

    Somehow, I enjoyed reading about your placement orientation! t must have been a fun experience,no? That lady asking about replacing love with L reminded me of shy school days when words were coded with first letter.

    • OHW March 20, 2013 at 6:02 pm Reply

      Yup, mixed emotions leaning more towards sickening for me. Yup taking up placement orientation was fun, or I should say reality check. These kids are so innocent, so ignorant about the world.

Leave a Reply

