While I fly…..

It’s been long since I have taken my first flight. That time my only concern was getting to the right flight, giving right answers when asked, clearing the security without hassles; in short getting through the formalities.  

But now as a regular flier, here’s what all goes in my head every single time I am travelling alone:
  • Hoping to reach airport well before time
  • Desperately wishing that my luggage is not over weight, which happens nearly all the time
  • In case of the latter, hoping that my smile would do wonders and carrying an extra bag in case I have to adjust between cabin n check in baggage
  • Adding to the above point, making sure nothing embarrassing poops out while I am opening my stuff for the world to see
  • In the queue to get my boarding pass, hoping to get a window seat, not near the emergency exit and not at either of ends but somewhere in the middle
  • While I wait for the boarding, hoping not to loose my control with all the shopping options 
  • And to get hold of a newspaper with empty Sudoku to fill
  • When I sit, hoping that a cranky kid or a sick lady doesn’t sit next to me (sorry to sound mean)
  • And if I am in a mood to sleep, wishing against a over enthusiastic tourist as my co passenger
  • In case of the opposite, hoping to have some healthy conversations
  • Or if the flight provides video, wishing that i finish any movie I select wiithin the flight time
  • Wishing for some graceful flight attendees, I have had experience of some totally dumb beauties taking care of the flight
  • And that they serve some good free food (ya call me a cheap stake)
  • Or good options available when I am paying a price for it
  • If i need to use the lavatory, desperately praying for it to be left clean by the previous user
  • That the flight is safe n reaches in time
  • Hoping to see my luggage the first thing at the luggage belt
  • And hoping to see TBH as soon as I move out of the doors 🙂
  • And be welcomed by his warm hug and his intoxicating smell 🙂
  • And to be home with him
And surprisingly enough nothing goes in my head when I am travelling with the better half, only he occupies it :). So what goes in your mind while flying?
 
Have been away from home for the past month, taking multiple flights and spending a good amount of time without TBH, resulting in the post. 
 
10 thoughts on “While I fly…..

  1. vishalbheeroo March 23, 2013 at 6:41 pm Reply

    lil bit anxiety..lack of sleep so poping my pills before hand and it’s a remedy to not feel the pain while landing. reaching the airport late which I did once and despite saying no, most of the time I end up carrying excess stuffs.
    Cheers
    Vishal

    • OHW March 25, 2013 at 6:35 pm Reply

      Thank god that i don’t face much problems as far as pain n other sickness are concerned. Btw which pill you take, my sis may need it. She feels immense pain while travelling thru air.

      • vishalbheeroo March 26, 2013 at 2:02 am

        valium is not bad. she can just pop it and sleep

  2. Santulan March 24, 2013 at 1:17 am Reply

    I don’t generally use the lavatory much while travelling, preferring to use it at the airport or railway station instead.I like to be awake during the take off and landing because of the views they provide, assuming I get a window seat that is..

    In case of flights little bumps make me feel a little anxious, have been feeling so since the last few times.

    As far as food is concerned, unless it is free I generally don’t buy it. I don’t see the point of paying high prices for such food. I would rather go empty tummy… however my most flights have been less than 2 hours or so..

    • OHW March 25, 2013 at 6:37 pm Reply

      Same for the lavatory n food, use/ take it only on need basis. But ya, I make it a point o have the masala tea offered by indigo. It tastes yum, I have been looking for similar ready made pouches to keep with me while travelling. Have you happen to try it?

      • Santulan March 26, 2013 at 2:26 pm

        no, I haven’t traveled by indigo yet.

        If I do, will check out their masala chai 😀

  3. techie2mom March 25, 2013 at 5:35 pm Reply

    Interesting list 🙂
    Now a days all i am worried about is Zini. But thankfully she enjoys her flights (with a little help from chips and other junks) and let’s me enjoy mine 🙂

    • OHW March 25, 2013 at 6:39 pm Reply

      That’s good 🙂 even I enjoy my flight most of the times in fact all modes of commute 🙂

  4. Visha March 28, 2013 at 2:24 pm Reply

    I constantly worry if the inflight magazine at my seat will have a solved or unsolved Sudoku 😛

Leave a Reply

