I have been baking !!!

Three baking experiments in past ten days and shall I say all successful ones.

First thing first, a big thank you to techie2mom for running this wonderful food blog and also taking pains and writing this baking for beginners. This not only saved a lot of TBH’s money (I was going to buy an oven) but also gave my baking experiments a new momentum. The post explains in detail the nuances of baking using a microwave and I am only too happy with the results.

So what I have been up to?

First I baked this, a basic eggless sponge cake using a recipe shared by the latest guest at home (yup there are some god send guests too)

Image

Only when I cut it, I realized why a sponge cake is called a sponge cake :). It turned out to be amazing.

Then I tried my hands in some bread making, a very small portion without even having a loaf tin but still managed to turn out to be good enough to give way to more efforts in this direction. Inspired by Haathi’s Masala Bread but not exactly replicating it. Sorry I don’t have pictures of it to share now.

And then the cherry on cake or what ever, Haathi again from Hungry and Excited posted this recipe of Eggless Guilt free Golden Cake and I did not need anything else, I was so tempted to bake it the moment I saw it but decided to wait for a proper baking tin and gather all the ingredients. And yesterday I baked this only later to realize that it was Gudi Padwa too 🙂

Image

And it turned out to be exactly the way I thought it to be. Kudos to all the food bloggers out there, you guys totally rock.

So what’s been up with you?

Tagged: , ,

25 thoughts on “I have been baking !!!

  1. Visha April 12, 2013 at 2:43 pm Reply

    Arrey wah, all delicious stuff here 🙂

    Happy baking!!

  2. Santulan April 12, 2013 at 3:01 pm Reply

    This looks just wow.. One must have the sponge cake fresh out of the oven, when it is warm and cutting it releases those delicious wafts of tempting smell…

    TBH must be happy happy happy..

    • onehonestwriter April 12, 2013 at 4:59 pm Reply

      TBH is surely a happy guy since he married me 🙂 And yes, I love those freshly baked cakes too 🙂 and the smell..ahh 🙂

  3. metherebel April 12, 2013 at 7:03 pm Reply

    That cake looks drool worthy!!! Happy baking 🙂

    • onehonestwriter April 12, 2013 at 8:30 pm Reply

      It totally was 🙂 and both of us were actually drooling over it till it was cold enough to take out of the tin n eat.

  4. vishalbheeroo April 12, 2013 at 7:18 pm Reply

    Happy Gudi Padwa. wow baking! I admire people who have the courage to bake since I can’t do it. Cheers:)
    Vishal

    • onehonestwriter April 12, 2013 at 8:31 pm Reply

      Before starting I used to think the same, its a big thing to do. But now realized if you follow the recipe and are not afraid of experimenting, and have some patience, it gives some amazing rewards 🙂

  5. Little Fingers April 12, 2013 at 8:22 pm Reply

    Whats happening, eeryone is baking and these pictures are making me hungry rt now.. I am a beginner when it comes to baking, so this is definitely an inspiration.

    • onehonestwriter April 12, 2013 at 8:33 pm Reply

      Ya true and those pictures from the other food bloggers made me try all this 🙂

  6. Nisha April 13, 2013 at 10:55 pm Reply

    You are beginner at baking? These look awesome!
    I don’t bake because I will have to eat most of the cake.. and I tend to put on even if I smell the dough!!
    How I wish I could eat a freshly baked cake..the smell is divine!

  7. OHW April 14, 2013 at 9:38 am Reply

    🙂 thank you so much and the smell, it is divine. And I belong to the same lot Jiska Hawa n pani se bhi weight badta hai, but just can’t stay away from sweets for long 😉

  8. techie2mom April 15, 2013 at 10:29 am Reply

    Hey Thanks for the kinds words 🙂 Glad to be of help…
    The cakes looks very very yummy, spongy and inviting…Would love to have your recipe 🙂
    I too love Revathi’s bread recipes, i too made masala bread…I think adding methi to the bread was a great idea….actually i made 3 loaves of masala bread!!! Yes, we loved it that much…

    • OHW April 15, 2013 at 1:24 pm Reply

      You are mst welcome but your instruction page has actually made me start all this in full swing, so thanks flies back to you.

      And yes, the bread experiments are next in the list :).

      • techie2mom April 15, 2013 at 2:48 pm

        i meant i made Masala bread from Revathi’s page – the hungry and excited…and i like all her bread recipes..And now that you have great reviews about her golden cake then i am going to try my hand at it 🙂

      • OHW April 15, 2013 at 4:41 pm

        I know you were talking about Haathi’s bread recipes 🙂 I just tried such a small portion tht, dint get the feel. Looking forward to try more of breads. And my thanks was for the baking for beginners post u did, that was my start 🙂

  9. kismitoffeebar April 15, 2013 at 12:01 pm Reply

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW! I can feel the fluffiness of the sponge cake. You go girl! 🙂

    • OHW April 15, 2013 at 4:57 pm Reply

      Thank you, thank you. 🙂

  10. My Era April 23, 2013 at 12:54 am Reply

    These look absolutely delightful 🙂 Happy Baking dear & am off to check out the recipes right away!!

  11. kirti April 27, 2013 at 10:58 pm Reply

    came here from hathi’s blog.
    The pics look absolutely awesome but, where is the recipe for sponge cake?
    Did I tell you I enjoyed this post and I am off to read the old ones.

    • onehonestwriter April 29, 2013 at 8:35 am Reply

      Thanks, welcome here. I haven’t posted the sponge cake recipe it was a very basic once shared by an aunt. Will share with you if you are interested.

  12. Monkey Mind June 20, 2013 at 10:34 am Reply

    Came over from Maybeinmadras 🙂

    The cakes look yum! Especially the sponge cake..sometimes mine get a bit dented in the center and look non-photogenic 😛

    • onehonestwriter June 22, 2013 at 8:59 am Reply

      Welcome here 🙂 yes, cakes do turn out ess photo worthy at times but just because its a cake I eat it anyway 🙂

      Btw I have realised following recipes to the T the first few times really help, and thts the reason my cakes are turning out great lately.

  13. Retrospection | Some Honest Writing April 21, 2014 at 3:00 pm Reply

    […] Cakes and more, I have always loved the homemade cakes and now I can make variants anytime I want, gives me a different high. […]

Leave a Reply

