How over the years you realise your Mom is always right!!!

Some random examples….

 – I was 16, first year college, when after years to be confined to a same uniform, we get to explore our fashion sense if any or the lack of it. I loved the Jeans and Kurta look i adopted along with the people who used to compliment me almost daily. I used to add some funky accessories too which were equally appreciated. My jhola bag collection was also quite talked about so was my desi street style footwear collection. 
 
Ya you are getting it right, sort of the then Journalist look, so next came the  kajal, the smudged eyes. I wore it once, and my mom said its looks awful, funny in a way. I ignored her that time, like when we do in peak teenage. I wore it for a couple of days,  third day when I was back from college Mom wore the Kajal and yes she looked awful too. That was the last time I wore Kajal. How did i came to conclusion so quickly, i resemble my Mom almost 80%, it was an easy one. 
 
– The sister grew, she came in college and she was fascinated by danglers. Kajal looks beautiful on her. Mom warned her too, telling her how overdoing it looks bad, she like me ignored her…. and one day while getting ready for a party Mom wore the Danglers and showed it to the Sister…and the decision was  made once again.
 
– Now on some serious issues, Mamma is a very open minded person, she would have been okay if I would have founded a guy for myself. I do know that, still she always emphasized that it would be better if the person you marry is of the same community, I used to laugh saying ‘agar aisa hai,, toh aap hee dhoond dena’.  Laugh because I am not a religious person by any standard.  In fact I always felt more inclination and interest in other religions than my own because of the rigidness in ours. My mom used to reason out saying there are somethings that goes in you without you even knowing about it and as you grow up in age, those things starts appearing on the surface.  And years passed by we sharing that joke, i got into couple of relationships which fortunately did not work out.
And now when I am married to TBH, I am glad we share a common community and religion, I am glad we are so comfortable among each other’s family, I am glad it is gradually becoming one family, I am glad the way we can share so much together, I am so glad the way life is unfolding. And I am so surprised by the fact that how my Mom is always right.
 
– Me and TBH are trying to reduce the extra flab we have acquired over the years, I have finally started realizing the importance of being fit, I am reading a lot about the same thing and you know how they say always dividing your meals in 5-6 small portions, Ms Rujuta Diwekar (Kareena Kapoor fame dietician shares similar opinion), how it is always right to listen to your stomach and stop eating right before you feel full etc etc. Its difficult for me to cook less in quantity, first for just two people and second that too just enough quantity without wasting the food and without punishing our stomachs.  All the reading and trials remind me how Mom always emphasized on fresh cooking, how the quantity was just enough, how there were hardly any leftovers used to be there in her kitchen, and sometimes when we used to argue for some of our favourite stuff – rice, kheer, halua, all chat items etc that ‘zyada banaya karo,  we want to eat a lot’. She calmly used to say this is just enough. Now I understand the importance. And still ours was one of the house where get to gathers every weekend was a common place and still is, I have never seen any family among my peers having so many family – friends lunches dinners. 
 
– How she always used to make sure that all grocery is stuffed before the fridge/boxes get empty.
 
So on and so forth, and I am happy that a lot of her is in me in looks, in nature and the habits she has inculcated in me. Gradually and beautifully they are surfacing in my character and I am lovinnn IT :).   
 
Tagged: ,

20 thoughts on “How over the years you realise your Mom is always right!!!

  1. vishalbheeroo June 10, 2013 at 6:27 pm Reply

    Interesting stuffs. Waise bhi, college life is the best time:0

    • onehonestwriter June 10, 2013 at 7:21 pm Reply

      No doubt college life is best, but this wasn’t about college life or any specific interesting stuff….but nevertheless thanks for passing by 🙂

  2. Santulan June 10, 2013 at 8:29 pm Reply

    I hope you go give your mom a nice big hug

    • onehonestwriter June 11, 2013 at 10:37 am Reply

      We are shy that ways… or we used to be…now we are getting there gradually but verbal hugs, a lot of them, for sure 🙂

  3. tandooripanipurilife June 11, 2013 at 5:56 am Reply

    Agree with you OHW.. Mums are always right 🙂

    • onehonestwriter June 11, 2013 at 10:38 am Reply

      They so are….and gradually we turn into our own Moms with younger siblings or kids around, or a close replica of her.

  4. greenboochi June 11, 2013 at 9:50 am Reply

    I so have to agree with you.. I am realizing a lot of things now that I have a house of my own… and can immediately relate to how used to do it and how I used to make fun of her or ignore her. Loved reading your post!

  5. greenboochi June 11, 2013 at 9:50 am Reply

    opps! *how mom used to do it

    • onehonestwriter June 11, 2013 at 10:39 am Reply

      Really…me too got those realization attacks, once I got married and started managing a household and a family of own 🙂

      Thanks GB

  6. onehonestwriter June 11, 2013 at 10:38 am Reply

    They so are….and gradually we turn into our own Moms with younger siblings or kids around, or a close replica of her.

  7. Little Fingers June 12, 2013 at 4:53 am Reply

    Moms are always right, it’s just that it takes sometime for us to understand their words..

    • onehonestwriter June 12, 2013 at 9:00 am Reply

      Yes…. Time and also situation similar to her’s 🙂

  8. Jas June 13, 2013 at 10:40 am Reply

    Agreed. Mom is the word and world 🙂

  9. Visha June 13, 2013 at 2:16 pm Reply

    So true!! and along the way, you smile at your rising maturity too 😉

  10. Pepper June 16, 2013 at 12:20 pm Reply

    Perhaps why they say mums are always right 🙂

  11. techie2mom August 23, 2013 at 12:41 pm Reply

    Mums are the best!! (i hope Zini too feels that 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

