We become Gym Goers….And this is what I have to say after my first two weeks

  1. It isn’t all that bad. 
  2. For first week your sex life is totally screwed owning to the pain in numerous body joints. Joints you never knew existed, before they loudly call out for attention. 
  3. There are more fit people hitting the gym than overweight as against my belief. 
  4. You realize the value of each minute all over again, when you have been on the treadmill for 18 long minutes and the last two minutes remains and you so want to give it up. 
  5. You unconsciously remember the logos of all popular sports brands Reebok, Puma, Nike, Adidas, Converse, Sketchers, Black Panther etc. etc.
  6. Being a women you invariably tend to see few of females who display fashion in gym and wonder just how do they do it.  
  7. And those hunks, those body builder type of men all are found in gyms. 
  8. You start recognizing people by the shoes they wear. 
  9. And the different smells you are being subjected to….sweat, sweat plus deo, just insane amount of deo, good deo, bad deo etc. 
  10. You start loving your nimboo pani and Electrol at all new level. 
  11. You realize that how eating right before gym brings a dramatic change to your energy levels. 
  12. And how you get tuned to seeing same kind of people at a particular time and feel strange at any other time. 
  13. How having a gym partner in my case TBH helps you keep your sprits high. 
  14. The length variations of shorts –  micro to jumbo. 
  15. The different expressions on different faces when in pain. 
  16. Having a personal trainer really helps for people like me who need that extra push 
  17. That you feel like banging your head in wall when the trainer says just 18 more right after you are done with two crunches in a set of twenty. 
  18. Some people do not have bones. They can turn, twist, fold themselves like a rubber. 
  19. Guys make most weird noise when they life heavy weights. 
  20. And on a positive note, I am very happy and surprised with myself to be able to do few things I never thought I would be able to.

P.S. Working out in a gym is the new fitness regime TBH and I have adopted for few months. Lets see what is next and how long we continue before we explore the next variation.

So what’s your gym experience?

29 thoughts on “We become Gym Goers….And this is what I have to say after my first two weeks

  1. Santulan July 1, 2013 at 11:43 am Reply

    I had gone to gym for three months (and left after that due to some dumb reasons ). I maynot have lost much weight, but I felt energized.. Over the duration of three months, I could run more and more, and lift more and more as I spent more time in the gym.

    I had once forgotten to take the deo with me, which was very embarrassing.

    • onehonestwriter July 1, 2013 at 11:47 am Reply

      I have to say you are super fast, and second I am more interested in that dump reason now 😛

      And about increased stamina and feeling energized- totally yes. Its not about the number on the scale it is actually more about feeling good.

      • Santulan July 1, 2013 at 11:49 am

        I used to stay alone before, and then owing to all the boredom , rented a new place with a friend. That place was a farther distance away from the gym.

      • onehonestwriter July 1, 2013 at 10:04 pm

        Find a new one I would say 🙂 That’s not a reason enough to leave.

  2. tandooripanipurilife July 1, 2013 at 11:50 am Reply

    No experience OHW.. Fit people hit the gym to stay fit & overweight people like me keep delaying joining gym 😦
    Seriously.. having a partner in gym keeps you motivated definitely..

    • onehonestwriter July 1, 2013 at 10:04 pm Reply

      Yes, agree to both the lines. And adding to the later, my sole motivation is my partner 🙂

  3. vishalbheeroo July 1, 2013 at 2:37 pm Reply

    fun post and gym maketh u healthy. I am hooked to yoga and started gym years back but stopped. I am planning to start again:)

  4. Smitha July 1, 2013 at 5:08 pm Reply

    I haven’t really been to a gym for years now! When I used to go, I was very regular and very focused:) There were some guys from my company, who apparently used to gape at the pace I used to work out( they told me this later:) ), but these days, I’ve just become a lazy bum. We’ve just bought a treadmill, and I hope to be regular on that. Fingers crossed.

    • onehonestwriter July 1, 2013 at 10:06 pm Reply

      Really, I can imagine you being the focused one when you used to go. And best of luck with the treadmill… I was so afraid of getting one and turning it into a cloth hanger that I decided to first try at a gym and get a machine for home later.

  5. DI July 1, 2013 at 5:22 pm Reply

    Hahahahaha! 😀
    https://foreverinbluejeans.wordpress.com/tag/fitness-attempts/
    My attempts, in a number of posts! 😀

    • onehonestwriter July 2, 2013 at 12:21 pm Reply

      Read neary all your weight n fitness stories and needless to say what a fun ride it was. And your categories of gym goers – had my head nodding vertically vigorously :).

  6. Visha July 1, 2013 at 6:52 pm Reply

    😆 @ #2

    No gym experience from my side, though I still remember the pain from the first week of doing suryanamaskars after a long, long haitus 😀

    • onehonestwriter July 1, 2013 at 10:07 pm Reply

      😛 and yes, Suranamaskars do that too but are a great n wholesome exercise specially for flexibility.

  7. greenboochi July 2, 2013 at 7:45 am Reply

    All the best for keeping up with the gym 🙂

    Gym really didnt work for me, somehow I get too conscious and sometimes looking around what others are up to, leaving me with no useful time spent there. Long walks with S are super good. I am just waiting for him to come join me, until then its only me doing the walks. I cant say how good it is to have a partner here!!

    • onehonestwriter July 2, 2013 at 12:22 pm Reply

      Thank you :). I am not much of a walk lover but now I am coming there too. You keep enjoying you walks and coax S to join, the fun would double up.

  8. Rashmi July 2, 2013 at 10:20 am Reply

    Gym is great..everybody should join to stay fit..but only few brave soul manage to do that and you are one of them 🙂 I had join only once long back that too when it was in my office

    • onehonestwriter July 2, 2013 at 12:23 pm Reply

      Thanks for the encouragement, it took years of internal pushing and TBH as a partner to be able to finally join one :).

  9. Chicky a.k.a. Kaddu July 2, 2013 at 1:15 pm Reply

    ROTFL @ “Some people do not have bones.” 😀
    That was an interesting list. I’ve come across most of that stuff in my gymming experience. Couldn’t stick to it though… ALL of them were such fit toned people that it was giving me a major complex! 😦 Plus I didn’t normally like the loud common music they played.
    I now prefer to do my own solitary evening walks, with my favorite music plugged into my ears.

  10. Nisha July 2, 2013 at 4:59 pm Reply

    Gyming does that to you… you know… varying phases of ‘I love to go to the gym’ and ‘Not againnnn’. Love your current enthusiasm. Hope it lasts :p
    Haha.. sorry for being so cynical. Gyming has done that to me!

    • onehonestwriter July 2, 2013 at 5:30 pm Reply

      Yup, I read about your enthusiasm and the zeal I guess when you completed one continuous week. Haina?

      • Nisha July 3, 2013 at 11:51 am

        No, more than 20 days continuous!! But for me, it turned to be a mistake owing to some health issues. Sometimes, exercise is not a good thing :p

      • onehonestwriter July 3, 2013 at 12:35 pm

        Hmm. I know, I have seen many a people adapting back and other troubles post vigorous work out session, but we are doing it under strict supervision and also post a discussion with my doc.

  11. Little Fingers July 3, 2013 at 12:53 am Reply

    I hope you post motivate me enough to get back to gym, I have been way too lazy 😦

    • onehonestwriter July 3, 2013 at 10:34 am Reply

      But you do swim right? And you look very fit in your pictures. Any workout or physical activity is fine i guess as long as one is regular. And being a working mom is no easy feat either 🙂

  12. Pratiksha July 3, 2013 at 4:11 pm Reply

    I think I found this post luckily… going to join aa gym from today onwards.. i think i can answer your question tomorrow or after a week.. 🙂 wish me luck… 😀 😉

    • onehonestwriter July 10, 2013 at 11:49 am Reply

      So how was it? And all the very best for the continuity. 🙂

      • Pratiksha July 11, 2013 at 2:03 pm

        It’s been a week now.. n it’s a first time gym. Bunked it for two days.. 😛 (one- bcoz my bro came n second – bcoz it was raining) so you see… bunking was not a voluntary affair.. 😀 Today i’m all set to resume my gym.. it’s fun… first two days were pathetic.. i was not even able to walk.. but now i’m accustomed to it.. 🙂 n find it great… 🙂 🙂

  13. techie2mom August 23, 2013 at 11:59 am Reply

    Nice post!! Gymming can be fun too!!
    i enjoy doing tread mill. In my gym they were placed near a big glass window and i could see the road below. I liked to watch the passing traffic and think peacefully (yeah, i think a lot while walking)!!

Leave a Reply

