Becoming the Biwi !!!

So it’s been more than 18 months since my marital status changed. But it’s only now that I am observing the changes in me. I am becoming more of a wife. Here’s how

  1. A lot of things have started bothering me which earlier never did like the state of my home or the cupboard.
  2. The refrigerator and grocery being fully stocked all the time (with the number of people who visit us it’s a necessity).
  3. Maid being regular person in my conversations.
  4. Me trying to supervise the maid’s work which I never did or do not support either.  But lately the way she has been doing work and the amount I pay her, I better start doing the work on my own and spend the money to buy some fancy items. See I started it again.
  5. Every single time I went out to shop I unconsciously also explore the kitchen/house décor/ furniture sections.
  6. Kitchen accessories being part of my birthday wish list.
  7. Having a birthday wish list and constant reminders to the better half for the same.
  8. Having expectations from the better half regarding my birthday.
  9. My blabbering turning into nagging of sorts.
  10. This sudden urge to buy jewelry.
  11. Caring about the monthly budget/ keeping a track on expenses.
  12. Being upset when something I cook does not turn out that well.
  13. Being very defensive when someone in the family visiting us points out to any arrangement, suggesting an alternative or stating the need of it.
  14. Getting out of home with a loose pony/bun wearing my pajamas and T, not giving a thought to my looks whenever I go for veggie – grocery shopping/stuffing.
  15. Demanding constant updates of whereabouts whenever TBH travels for work/local meetings etc.
  16. Making sure the husband carries his wallet, keys, handkerchief, and his watch whenever he gets ready to go out for work.
  17. Looking for occasions to dress traditional wear.
  18. Bringing regular temple visit in our weekly routine.
  19. Getting upset by few relatives and their actions.
  20. Shouting/ Getting irritated at TBH for no valid reason or very small ones.

I am not sure it’s the age, it’s the responsibility of running a household or its marriage. All I want is not to turn into this super nagging, perfectionist kind of wife I want to stay as friends / lovers / flat mates do with TBH. I have to keep a check on this and unlearn few things.

Tagged: ,

9 thoughts on “Becoming the Biwi !!!

  1. Little Fingers July 5, 2013 at 8:46 pm Reply

    My husband feels I cheated him getting married,looks like I was perfect when we were in a livein relation and I don’t bother him too much . I think wife and nagging goes hand in hand 🙂

    • onehonestwriter July 5, 2013 at 9:14 pm Reply

      That’s kind of a relief. Among all the people I did not expect you to be the nagging one. I know you are trying to be nice to me but I would still belief to feel good today 😉

  2. vishalbheeroo July 6, 2013 at 12:25 am Reply

    Interesting perspective of marriage life. I am single and guess, I don’t know what goes between a couple but I believe understand and love make a marriage stand:) Congo for 18 months spent in marriage.

    • onehonestwriter July 7, 2013 at 12:18 pm Reply

      Thanks….yes love does the magic but on a day to day basic I just wish I can become more easy going with things around.

  3. Santulan July 6, 2013 at 12:33 pm Reply

    As long you’re not getting on each other’s nerves?

    • onehonestwriter July 7, 2013 at 12:20 pm Reply

      May be but I want to stay poles apart from that stage.

  4. Maddie July 6, 2013 at 1:58 pm Reply

    Expect the unexpected. And wait till you have a baby, that’s when your world will turn upside down! 😀

    • onehonestwriter July 7, 2013 at 12:21 pm Reply

      I know, I have heard the stories, read experiences and I am so scared already.

  5. techie2mom August 23, 2013 at 11:38 am Reply

    Wow!! Even after being married for almost 7 years now, i can’t keep the house and the cupboards and similar things in order (my hubby does that 😉 )!!! And let’s not talk about the fridge..
    You are doing great job OHW..

Leave a Reply

