Conversations in the other room

I have mentioned in my recent posts that an elderly couple (in between 70-75) are visiting us. They are TBH’s maternal side aunt and uncle. The aunt needs some eye surgery done so since past week we have been running from hospitals to hospitals and still indecisive about our course of action. Anyway, we had no visits and follow ups today, so they have been sitting in the TV room since lunch.

And this is what their random conversation looks in these few hours.

It started with we have to decide something, how long we are going to stay, pareshani bhi toh hoti hai.

It then shifted to Madhuri, how she is getting work after returning, how she is again in news, earning respect and money, how they were worried (specially aunt) when they heard about her divorce rumors.

(I never thought Madhuri Dixit Nene can be a part of such serious couple conversation) 

Next it was the aunt bringing uncle up to date with Veera’s story (its a show on Starplus). Most sincerely she was sharing all that Veera has gone through, how her mom treats her and her son differently; how she has recently started developing feelings for another man and how much our aunt likes his character etc etc. And this was done not like they were discussing a fictional show but as if she was sharing someone close’s story.

Then it moved towards Modi, Uttrakhand situation and how the news channels are giving manipulative information.

Post that it was the turn of one of our distant cousin who is a doctor and practices in USA. They were discussing that how her life would have been much more better if she has opened up her own clinic rather than providing her services somewhere else.

Then came me and they both were so appreciative of me and the way I manage home – work, the way I cook in nearly no time and take utmost care of them. That sure made me happy.

They weren’t aware that it all was audible to me. But all these random conversations left me wondering what would form mine and TBH’s conversation when we grow old.

And my mind said food, travel, love making, business, possibilities despite the age if all remains okay health wise 😛

11 thoughts on “Conversations in the other room

  1. Visha July 16, 2013 at 5:58 pm Reply

    In my case, Zack will always be found sleeping – and no one would even question him why is he not giving his wife company 😥 😥 😥

    • onehonestwriter July 21, 2013 at 8:20 pm Reply

      I don’t think our sleeping patterns remain same in old age as well, everybody I have seen sleeps minimal at that age.

  2. vishalbheeroo July 16, 2013 at 6:46 pm Reply

    cool converso..tit-bits of family reunion..idhar udhar ki batein wagara wagara:)

    • onehonestwriter July 21, 2013 at 8:20 pm Reply

      it was definitely idhar udhar ki baatein. Totally random

  3. Little Fingers July 16, 2013 at 10:03 pm Reply

    Ha ha I am wondering if my boy will crack me up even then ??

  4. Santulan July 16, 2013 at 11:17 pm Reply

    A little appreciation goes a long way. It feels nice 😀

    • onehonestwriter July 21, 2013 at 8:21 pm Reply

      it definitely feels nice and you feel reenergized for being recognized for your efforts 🙂

  5. greenboochi July 17, 2013 at 10:00 am Reply

    Aww I always love listening/looking at old couples. Even I wonder how I will be with S many years later 🙂 The answer would only be one – I will still keep talking and he will keep listening. This guy can never talk one full sentence! hmpf!

    • onehonestwriter July 21, 2013 at 8:21 pm Reply

      That holds true for me and TBH as well, unless its business related 😛

  6. techie2mom August 23, 2013 at 10:25 am Reply

    My in-laws too have similar conversations about serials and actors 🙂
    It feels so good and fuzzy to hear appreciation…Hugs..

Leave a Reply

