Transformation

Slowly and gradually things are changing for me. I am feeling few modifications in my being. Just yesterday I was mentioning this to TBH that my guilt pangs have reduced drastically. I am transforming into a very content and satisfied stay at home partner.

I took my self proclaimed break from work when I shifted with TBH post marriage. Even after getting work opportunities I decided to continue the six months break. During this period I realized that working out of home for 12 – 13 hours including commute did not make sense to our lives. TBH works from home when not travelling. I decided not to add unwanted struggle to our lives and started looking for work from home options. I explored a few options and finally landed into TBH’s company which is based in another city, handling a particular division which resonates both with my liking and my background. But managing a remote resource is not an easy task, also when I am working from home for our own venture, the guest we host do not understand that concept. They take my time and my availability for granted. Apart from that I am into couple of other things which I can expand if I have the will to do so.

Until few months back I used to go down the guilt trips of not utilizing my talent, my education and my time in the right manner (basically not working in a corporate setup), I used to get negative kicks whenever I read some body from my circle updating about their new job/promotion/any official achievement.

But all that has somehow changed in past few months, I have been insanely travelling with TBH, I am okay to spend days reading or browsing the internet finding some interesting stuff. My kitchen time also increases manifold whenever I am in my happy mode. I have planned to join a couple of other courses of my liking. I plan to explore more of my city and travel around the world with TBH.

It’s not that these things can’t be managed with a job. But somehow I am feeling okay to devout my time in all that what I like wholeheartedly, I no more feel the guilt or the depression bouts. I dunno it’s a positive change or just a phase but that’s what I feel right now.

Interestingly it’s what I wanted my life to be always. I was never very ambitious, but during growing up years with all that padai, with seeing both partners working all the time, with loving my last job to the core, I thought that’s the only way to be. I had no idea I would have a lifestyle and a choice of not working full time and living a super happy content beautiful interesting life.

I also have a lot to say about this topic, the various view points, why I think it’s okay and other things but I want to break it in various posts. I would also like to understand and read more of this, I would like to know your experiences. Your view on this, your reason of working or not working. Your reason of choosing your life.

Tagged: ,

14 thoughts on “Transformation

  1. tandooripanipurilife November 20, 2013 at 10:27 am Reply

    Aap khush ho na??? bas. This is all what matters. You are happy &TBH is happy with the way you both are living your life, that is the best thing. As you said this maybe a phase, if it is a phase, when it will pass away, you can always go back to join corporate world IF you want. About my experiences, I will write a post, how about that?? 🙂

    • onehonestwriter November 21, 2013 at 10:01 am Reply

      It would be great reading your account, all i can remember from your past posts is that you also joined work after a couple of years of being married? Haina?

  2. greenboochi November 20, 2013 at 11:05 am Reply

    It all comes down to how you feel OHW! Now that you are happy and content, nothing more matters at all.

    I would prefer working for an organization (corporate setup I mean) where I know I will have my paycheck every month. S runs his own firm, and many a times have asked me to join him. I have politely denied. For me, job security and monthly income are the first preferences. Somehow joining him in his office seems more of a risk taking to me, right now. May be in future, my perspective may change.

    • onehonestwriter November 21, 2013 at 10:05 am Reply

      I know what you mean, but the kind of planning we have specially TBH with his finances, multiple setups and the open family culture we have, a lot of my worries are taken care of and may be that is the added reason for the change in me. And I can so relate with you considering one of my friend has also chosen a regular job as against joining her entrepreneur husband siting the same reason, ultimately its more about freedom to choose a life for your own-self.

  3. Visha November 20, 2013 at 1:19 pm Reply

    As GB and TP rightly say, if you are happy then why to worry 🙂

    If today you are happy being stay-at-home and tomorrow you are bored, you always have the option to rejoin the corporate world, or start something of your own. Its not as if you have closed the doors of opportunities.

    I work because I feel bored sitting at home. I joined a corporate immediately after college. Post marriage, I was on a break for a month and I was tired not working 😀 Also, the double income helps a lot for the home because we have a lot many loans to close off. So its a win-win situation for me. In future, if I do take a blog from the corporate world, it would be to follow some designated goal, like writing or freelancing.

    • onehonestwriter November 21, 2013 at 10:11 am Reply

      I really don’t think joining back the corporate world would be an easier option after a long gap specially with Indian Job scenario. And on the contrary I think this situation has opened a lot of doors for me to do what I like and take forward things which I have already started.

      Even I was tired of being free, if I wasn’t involved in so many stuff I would have joined a firm. But the point is i feel I am relatively busy with the freedom of managing my time. And for sure if TBH would have been out for major part of the day, I would be doing the same.

      But you guys are giving me great insights and great support 🙂

  4. paatiamma November 20, 2013 at 1:38 pm Reply

    The same…Your happiness matters…But do be mindful of finance et al and how it would affect lifestyle and your savings and plans for the future..Even when you stay at home ensure that you keep enhancing your work skills as well as it might be of help when you rejoin or take alternate career options.

  5. onehonestwriter November 21, 2013 at 10:18 am Reply

    I am going to take your advice seriously here and in one of my next posts on this I will let you guys know what all I am doing and how busy I am to actually feel this way 🙂

  6. paatiamma November 21, 2013 at 1:31 pm Reply

    Thumbs up!!

  7. techie2mom November 22, 2013 at 12:04 pm Reply

    Most important thing is to be happy, i would say!! And that way you have achieved the ultimate goal..
    This transformation is for the best!!

  8. […] I was typing a comment on OHW’s post on Transformation & I realized I am writing a whole post in her comment section. So, I thought I will not take up […]

  9. Neeli November 27, 2013 at 12:54 pm Reply

    As everybody said, that its important to be happy… n if you are happy.. then why to worry…enjoy your best time with TBH, roam around, see your city, shop a lot… go party.. do crazy things.. life is short so live it to the fullest SHW 🙂 😀

    I’m single and I work… I’m happy in that but sometimes, I feel to leave everything, sit at home n enjoy watching TV.. but I know that’s okay with me for some time but after a while I’ll start having the urge to get back to work.. because I’ve become accustomed to my work… Sometimes, I also feel to become an entrepreneur 😛 and be my own Boss…

    When I think of myself after my marriage.. having a new born kid… n the duration of maternity leaves (3 months in private institutions and 6 months in govt set ups) I wonder, how will I leave my kid to some one and come for work… After my experience with my relatives’ kids, their every single activity, their emotions, those lil baby steps, learning new things.. etc I don’t wanna miss my kid’s time.. So sometimes I think.. I’ll leave my job for sometime and can continue working when kids are lil independent…

    AaaaH… too much likh diya kya? :O

Leave a Reply

