Shopping

I love shopping. I love roaming in the markets. I love exploring new markets, new stores. I love street food. It’s not always about buying, I just love being in marketplace for the sheer energy you see there. It’s my way of knowing what’s in, what’s going in the fashion world, what colors are popular in any particular season, what’s in trend, what’s new in the market so on and so forth.

I have been an independent shopper for quite some time. The sister and mum are not that fond of shopping, so I used to buy stuff for all three of us when I was there. And it’s not only clothes, shoes, bags or all girly stuff strikes me, I will go to furniture/grocery/vegetables shopping with equal valor. Like I said I just love everything about being in markets.

After marriage like most of the guys TBH was not too fond of shopping, especially if it is ‘his’ shopping. He used to roam around in the markets/malls with me feeling bored or disinterested after sometime. During one of our shopping trips he asked me to moderate my way of shopping. He asked me to develop the habit of focused shopping like decide if it’s going to be shoe shopping today, grocery shopping the other day, basically break the shopping experience and also have outings without shopping involved. He was okay with making multiple but shorter shopping trips like of few hours rather than whole day and since that time it’s a happy shopping experience with him too.

From the time I have shifted to the country’s capital, shopping has taken all new level. Everybody is aware of the fact that Delhi is one of the dream shopping destination. From street shopping to world class stores; from western to traditional, from bags to shoes, from handicrafts to handpicked merchandise. It has everything for everyone and above all this, The People.  I consider markets to be one of the best places to observe people, to understand different kind of shoppers in turn people.  Specially in Delhi, here people have amazing fashion sense. And they are so beautiful. From their skin to hair, to their efforts of looking good. The biggest thing is affordability of fashion in Delhi.

So why I am bringing shopping now. Because it was a hell of a weekend with Shopping. TBH’s couple friend were visiting us and the wife wanted to cover all the major shopping destinations. We covered CP/Janpath/Lajpat/Sarojini in past three days.

During past few months which involved our vigorous travel, I was slightly getting disinterested in shopping considering it as a sign of maturity but visiting the capital’s famous local markets have instilled my liking again. It was the Delhi markets I was missing and honestly after shopping in Delhi, I don’t like shopping anywhere else.

Leaving you with some pictures of Delhi local markets which the sister took during her last visit here.

 IMG_1268 IMG_1257 IMG_1253 IMG_1250 IMG_1224 IMG_1213 IMG_1226 IMG_1227 IMG_0134 IMG_0133 IMG_0132 IMG_0129 IMG_1214 ImageImageImageImage

Image Credits: All pictures are owned by people associated with this blog, refrain from using without permission.

Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “Shopping

  1. Santulan November 26, 2013 at 4:05 pm Reply

    I bought that sindoor dani and haathi from jaipur 🙂

    • onehonestwriter November 27, 2013 at 11:16 am Reply

      Hmm those traditional handicrafts i guess originated from Rajisthan only. But that is what happened, where ever I go/travel I don’t find a single thing which is not or could not be available in Delhi numerous markets. And that’s why my out of Delhi shopping has reduced manifolds.

  2. Neeli November 27, 2013 at 12:42 pm Reply

    Yaar… I love Delhi.. but I’m scared of Delhi n the reason everyone knows.. so let’s leave that…

    I’ve been to Delhi twice in past one yr.. All my friends are based in Delhi.. Last time when I paid my visit, I roamed around CP with my friend… It’s indeed a fab city… n yes, I agree.. its the best shopping venue… 🙂 🙂 though I couldn’t manage to buy stuffs for myself, as I was running short of time… i did window shopping and that alone mesmerized me… 🙂

    Loved all the pics… they are gr8 🙂 🙂

    • onehonestwriter November 28, 2013 at 8:48 am Reply

      Next time you come, shop some stuff for yourself 🙂 You will love it even more.

      • Neeli November 28, 2013 at 9:40 am

        Yups.. that’s for sure… waiting to visit Dilli again 🙂

  3. kismitoffeebar December 17, 2013 at 4:16 pm Reply

    Loved this post OHW. I read a while back but commenting now. I wish I could do a shoppin trip right away after all those pictures. So when I come there, I hope I can see you and show with you in one of the shop-hops ? 🙂

Leave a Reply

