Books – My journey as a reader !!!

I had so many topics running in my head starting from B and here I am going the most cliched way picking up books. That’s is probably because as much as I read I hardly update this space about all that I have read and my growth as a reader. There was a time when I used to maintain a list of all the books I have read first in the back of my personal diary and then an online one. But those days are long gone. 

Recently Jas wrote this post, where she has mentioned she is a late bloomer as far as books are concerned and she started with M&B. That’s exactly my story, I started reading when I was in my senior school classes and used to read M&B like crazy sitting in one corner of the library. We were not allowed to issue those books and I now wonder what those were even doing in a school library. That was my break time from all the grueling science studies where anyway I dint used to understand much. 

I guess that’s one of the reasons I never connected well with Harry Potter, Enid Blyton or even P.G.Wodehouse, may be I totally skipped that adventurous childhood period where you fall in love with these series. Then came Daniel Steel, picking Daniel Steel after M&B was a natural progression. Considering the over fantasied – bollywoodized kind of relationships they portray. Also because one of my friends had a huge collection of Daniel Steel books and buying books in those days was out of question.  

Came college and I read all Chetan Bhagat and Chetan Bhagat inspired books. Books where mundane college life,  a routine corporate life or everyday life has been told as a great catchy story. Nicholas Sparks, Jhumpa Lahari, Ken Follet, James Patterson, Khaled Hosseini also made there entry during this period of time. And I fell in love with Khaled Hosseini. In search of some Indian authors I also read a few books from Shobha De, Manju Kapoor, Anita Desai, Kiran Desai and V.S. Naipaul. For most of them I realized they are not my cup of tea/coffee/milk. Specially after the last two, I stopped reading any Booker Prize winning novels.   

During my MBA I got hooked to the world of business books, The Google Story, Pepsi to Apple, Ebay Story, Yahoo’s Journey and similar other books- I read them all. I was fascinated by these businesses; their humble beginnings and great success in later years captivated me. In search of Indian business books I started reading Rashmi Bansal and have read all her books, just yesterday ordered her latest book.

In my early days of corporate job we had a wonderful library system and I read quite a few books during that time too. Still exploring Indian authors and their writing. I also lived Ayn Rand‘s world during my job switching period. 

Post marriage when the fitness bug caught me, I read one book from Rujuta Divekar from the better half’s collection and then read all her books. The latest one Don’t Lose Out, Work Out is next in my reading list. I also explored a lot of other random fitness and health books over this period of time. 

Last year I read Palace of Illusions from Chitra Bannerjee Divakaruni and mythological books and this CBD was my new obsession. I then went on to read Shiva Trilogy, The Pregnant King and lately explored and loved more books from CBD.

Every now and then I pick up some light reading like books from Yashodhara Lal or some new author making rounds or easy books to break the monotony and have some fun reading or specially while travelling. 

And sometimes ordinary books like Can’t Die for Size zero and How I braved anu aunty and confounded a million dollar company surprises you and get into the list of your personal favorites for the sheer co relation power they have. 

So much for being short !! That was my journey with the book world and what I love the most is the little world they let us explore beyond our own, the dynamics of human emotions, the fascinating stories of fellow human beings. I hope to continue on this journey forever. 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Books – My journey as a reader !!!

  1. Jas April 2, 2014 at 3:03 pm Reply

    An incredible journey. Some books connect like they were always meant for you, some have the prowess to engross you again and again. The world of words is baffling. 🙂

  2. Rashmi April 2, 2014 at 4:31 pm Reply

    I too have read most of the books you mentioned here in my begning days of reading books. I havent read Rujuta Divekar so far..
    Love for book doesnt matter started when..Once you liked reading..it will stay with you forever and keep you busy throughout life as there is hell lot of books out there to be read and loved 🙂

    • onehonestwriter April 2, 2014 at 10:04 pm Reply

      Totally agree. I don’t see it ending, I just wish to read and like varied books. I think my liking has some limitations.

  3. shail April 2, 2014 at 5:18 pm Reply

    Try Anita Nair. She is a good writer too. And Indu Sundaresan. 🙂 I am a CBD fan of Place of Illusions. In other Indian authors I like Amitav Ghosh.
    But for me THE most fav writer will always be the one and only Wodehouse. Now Haruki Murakami has entered the picture.

    • onehonestwriter April 2, 2014 at 10:02 pm Reply

      Thanks so much for the suggestions 🙂 and yes have read Amitav Ghosh, missed mentioning him. Heard/read a lot about Haruki Murakami, should check out sometime soon.

  4. Visha April 2, 2014 at 5:57 pm Reply

    I started reading a fortnightly kids magazine which used to be given as a supplement with the days newspaper 😀

    I used to read like crazy until my marriage and then reading dived down. The bug bit me again thankfully 😉

    • onehonestwriter April 2, 2014 at 10:00 pm Reply

      Oh yup, I totally forgot those blissful comics days and kids supplement days but never took it further. It’s only later in life that I started some regular reading.

  5. Cristina April 3, 2014 at 3:04 am Reply

    I am a book fiend! And so I will help another…for a couple of the genres you posted!

    His Dark Materials – Phillip Pullman
    Pour Your Heart Into it – Howard Schultz (Starbucks!)

    Enjoy!

  6. tandooripanipurilife April 4, 2014 at 7:08 am Reply

    Not at all into reading 😦

    • onehonestwriter April 4, 2014 at 7:37 am Reply

      Not at all, you should start with some – you will have a good time in commuting 🙂

      • tandooripanipurilife April 4, 2014 at 9:01 am

        I love watching youtube cooking/beauty videos while commuting 😛

        I have to start reading but whenever I go to the book store I get so confused looking at million books that I come out without buying one 😦

Leave a Reply

