D for Drawers

I shifted from Dad after reading Visha’s this post to Dogs post this one from Shail, oops that dint sound good in just one sentence. Sorry folks. Then FB pushed a picture of my super cool father in law which my Bhabhi posted, I thought I will write about my Dad from this side of family. I went ahead and blissfully spent my blogging time whatsapping with TP and updating each other on current lives and forgot all about the said topics. Meanwhile I got busy in mundane daily chores and while cleaning up the home, making breakfast, trying to find something I realized how the ubiquitous drawers in my place needs a reorganizing session.

And that stuck with me as the D for today. When we shifted to our present apartment more than a year back, I was highly impressed with the availability of plenty of drawers in the bedroom cupboards, in kitchen wood work and alike. Then we got some furniture work done and got some more storage space in the form of bed side tables, office table, tv cabinet etc. I lived in a wistful state of how all my stuff would be super organised and my house will be clutter free by utilizing these spaces in the most effective way.

I spent good amount of time assigning and arranging each drawer for some useful stuff according to each room like the Kitchen drawers for kitchen stuff, others for medicine, important files, bills, papers, bags, junk jewelry, craft stuff, mechanic wala stuff, stationary, technical junk, extra wires/chargers, games, toiletries, laundry…you get the drift right?

But they remained in that organised state of being for a very brief period of time. And before I knew things started overlapping, at times overflowing and totally haphazard. And the task of organizing – reorganizing them every now and then lies on me. I am not sure what is worst – cluttered spaces or space free clutter?

The question of more storage spaces to reduce the clutter vs to have no extra space resulting in no clutter has always made me wonder. Can we actually have a clutter free home? Having stuff only that we essentially require? I try to give away unused items as often as I can, storing only the items I require from time to time still there is always extra useless stuff around than required.

Do you have any suggestions on organizing homes? Specially the attractive drawers. And how to keep them in that state for longer periods of time?

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “D for Drawers

  1. Santulan April 4, 2014 at 2:58 pm Reply

    I want more drawers.. just so that I can dump things in them.. Baahar sab saaf dikhe uske liye 😛

    • onehonestwriter April 4, 2014 at 7:08 pm Reply

      but what about they stay clean and organised from inside too 😛

  2. Visha April 4, 2014 at 4:40 pm Reply

    Well, my funda is to theme the drawers. If it is for storing stationary, keep only stuff related to it. So I have a drawer full of bills, where in due to shortage of time u can dump all kinds of bills in it, but when you get some time, sort the electricity bills from the appliance purchase bills and keep them in huge envelopes. Then again, keep all the envelopes inside that drawer only 😉

    If we dump different kind of things in one drawer, it becomes junk – difficult to maintain. But dump same kind of stuff, it is clutter – easier to identify.

    • onehonestwriter April 4, 2014 at 7:08 pm Reply

      No no, I dump only similar stuff…but still andar se bhi toh proper hona chaiye, jamao fir bigad jata hai 😦

  3. Nisha April 4, 2014 at 7:07 pm Reply

    Even I have a lot of drawers and they are indeed a blessing. My stuff is always organised. I can find things even in the dark! I have no clue how to give advice on this one though!

  4. Little Fingers April 4, 2014 at 8:19 pm Reply

    If the drawers were in place before you moved it would have been easy. We get used to a place including drawers.Take each room clean the drawers and start from scratch. Rearranging is always a pain, whereas if you start from none it’s relatively easy . For kitchen I label bottles if they are not transparent for easy access. For office I bought a big file folder where I can put monthly bills, medical, pay slips, Bank docs etc. At later stage if we want to come back it’s easy. Cloths I stack all tops , pants, dresses etc. everyone compliments my home is well organized but still I feel it’s messy. That’s a disorder I have .

    • onehonestwriter April 4, 2014 at 8:23 pm Reply

      I know your OCD :P, and I was waiting for your inputs on this one Lifi I am gonna do the rearranging in next two weeks and won’t get lazy after that and try to maintain it as much as I can.

  5. vishalbheeroo April 4, 2014 at 10:08 pm Reply

    Hmm! M soo bad at it and love drawers to store my stuffs but still I wanna more..in no time, my drawers become such a messy state of affairs..lol things keep cluttering out of nowhere:)

Leave a Reply

