To be prepared !!! How much and how to !!!

Since morning, I have been feeling extremely tired and exhausted. I woke up with TBH’s sound of extreme coughing, though he is doing good today. In my attempt to write happy entries this month, I did not mention that TBH was diagnosed with mild typhoid around ten days back and was advised complete bed rest. I followed the doctor’s instructions to the T and now he is alright, in fact much better, resumed work since Monday.

I know typhoid is not a big deal, but illnesses and sicknesses in general have started to impact me a great deal these days. May be it’s the hormonal changes or coming to terms with the city life, or missing family phase or simply plain growing up. Somewhere in the background the reason is also a blog I read few months back and had to stop reading forcefully, I am forgetting the link, the name so unable to post the details. In short it was a writer’s blog who had a dream like life until one routine morning her 40 something husband felt sick (headache – vomiting – nausea) and died of a heartache within a matter of few minutes. The blog covers details of that morning and her journey thereafter. She also mentioned that only a couple of days her husband got a through health check up done and the reports came out clean, which came as a shock to me. 

Since last few weeks every now and then I get restless, spend sleepless nights thinking about all the action points I need to take if I am stuck in an emergency. The fact that all our friends and relatives in Delhi live at least on an hour’s drive doesn’t help my situation. Also this that I know total of zero people in our apartment aggravates the matter in my mind. I have saved all the emergency contacts, of nearby hospital, of our doctor and alike. I can’t sleep without my cellphone by my side. I have been pushing TBH to go for a full medical checkup since few days. We are only waiting for his typhoid to subside completely. His BP came slightly on the higher side twice last week, it might be because of the fever but now I think my BP is on a rise because of that. 

I need to keep all the emergency medicines in my bedside table, but I am afraid to ask family in case they get extra worried or suspicious. I am actually getting paranoid thinking all the things that can go wrong. That’s why this post. I needed to take this out of my system. And I need all your help to prepare me for such situations, all the people living alone, all the couples living away from family how to keep one ready? Or how to calm my mind? What medicines/ medical tools / emergency numbers you keep handy?

I have faced emergencies in my hometown, twice. I have come out much stronger in calamities to my own surprise. My dad used to call me in case of any such situation before Mom. Once I drove him to hospital in the middle of the night managing everything when he complained of chest pain. But there it is like we know everybody, ten people can come to be by your side in 2 minutes. It’s different matter that you actually call them or not, but at least there is an assurance of your people being there. But these days I am feeling very weak and struggling to come over such thoughts. Guys help out. 

Tagged: , ,

9 thoughts on “To be prepared !!! How much and how to !!!

  1. greenboochi April 23, 2014 at 5:59 pm Reply

    I have the same worries sometimes, especially if S is driving down to Bangalore – which he does most of the times. And now that I am alone, what if I have an emergency myself? I have no clue.

    And then there is the worry of something happening to parents or in-laws when we are all away.

    • onehonestwriter April 29, 2014 at 9:25 am Reply

      I know GB, atleast as of now I am slightly relaxed from parent’s end (both sides) as there is extended family and other family members to support.

  2. Anupama April 23, 2014 at 6:45 pm Reply

    Always hope for the best. Being tensed cannot help you in any way, it can perhaps worsen circumstances!

  3. Anupama April 23, 2014 at 6:45 pm Reply

    Always hope for the best. Being tensed cannot help you in any way, it can perhaps worsen circumstances!

    http://www.volatilespirits.com

    • onehonestwriter April 29, 2014 at 9:26 am Reply

      Yup I know, its not that I am hoping for the worst but these things cross my mind, more so recently !!!

  4. Little Fingers April 26, 2014 at 6:26 pm Reply

    Oh dear you should ask me this.R travels by flight every week 2 times. Imagine my anxiety during his travel. I am a single mom for 4 days. I can’t even fall sick. Same with him, I get so nervous when he is sick or don’t lift my calls. Hugs !!

    • onehonestwriter April 29, 2014 at 9:32 am Reply

      Hmm, the way you manage things inspires me a great deal. And I often tag you as super mom too. But yup, we can’t keep away the anxiety part.

  5. tandooripanipurilife April 28, 2014 at 11:41 am Reply

    I think we all have this fear, for me its even worse because I don’t drive.. I always fear that if any emergency comes up, I will be helpless.. It gives me mini heart attack thinking of this only.. But as Anupama said in her comment, always hope for the best..
    Keep police/ambulance numbers on your phone.. maybe your neighbor’s phone numbers as well.. In any emergency they can be of big help even if they are not your friends.. In my case our next door neighbors are our friends only so bit of haasshh..
    but I have to start driving first..

    • onehonestwriter April 29, 2014 at 9:34 am Reply

      Yes TP, me too need to start driving in Delhi, not comfortable with TBH’s gaddi and Delhi’s shrinking parking space. But with the new role, I just might 🙂

Leave a Reply

