Xerox Copy

Me, of my Mom at least in looks. A lot of people except my dad say so. And I proudly accept it, because she is so damn pretty. Even after being a sasu ma, my mother has the ability to look like a newly wed and I for one look more like her sister or a close relative. She looks quite young for her age, infact dad too and they compliment each other wonderfully. If only I would have been 20k lighter and had a flawless skin like hers, papa would have been convinced too :P. Anyway people have started relating more now after my marriage specially when they see me wearing Indian, a bindi, sindoor etc. Yes I do look like my mom. 

And I so wish the similarity goes much beyond that. She is a beautiful lady inside out. An exceptional professional, a sought after orator, a literary personality and a total family person too. Not the typical mamma material who would care for the child, worry unnecessary about the routine things like if her kids are well fed or are sleeping enough, how they are dressed, staying awake with their exams, no not at all. But she comes as a pillar of strength when we need her. It’s only now when I have seen few ups and downs in life I have realized how wonderful and strong she is. She and dad together give the best advice possible. She sometimes seems so vulnerable but at other so strong. I can’t put in words how much I respect her and want to be like her.

I read somewhere that its only in your late 20s that you feel you are tuning into your mom. And I feel it so many times, on all her habits I used to crib as a child, I follow exactly same now. The sister usually calls me her second mom, because my behavior with her is more like our own mom in fact only more interfering. Mom has this immense ability of keeping herself detached from us where necessary, giving us our own space. I always wonder how she does it, it’s so difficult letting your child commit mistakes, fall right in front of you and than standing on the other side a support. Only once in my entire lifetime I saw her weak and the reason was me and in the end she turned out so right, I can’t imagine my current life if it wasn’t her taking command of my life.

All I wanna say is I love you Mom !!! Would never hurt you deliberately ever again, no matter what. Can’t thank God enough for making me your and dad’s daughter. 

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Xerox Copy

  1. vishalbheeroo April 28, 2014 at 10:35 pm Reply

    Glad to read that u are the Xerox copy of Mom that the sis looks up to you. Do check mine if u wanna revive the college days on Xerox:)

  2. greenboochi April 29, 2014 at 4:50 pm Reply

    Very beautifully written OHW! 🙂

Leave a Reply

