Zero Ground Philosophy

I wrote something on this self developed philosophy on my older blog (now private) around some 5 years back. It was during the time when I found myself standing on the same ground after an year of hard work for CAT. On my first attempt I scored 76 percentile and on my consecutive attempt reached to 98 percentile but still no luck with getting into top notch colleges. I was still standing on Ground Zero. That made me realize how it is true with almost everything in life. College is a passe now, I have no regrets as far as my education is concerned but that got me thinking. That time I vowed to define my own life rules and not fall for the rat race. 

Your peers change, your competitors change and somehow you are always on Ground Zero. First you compete to get a good college. Once you get it you compete to get best possible placement. If you get that, you compete with your colleagues for promotions, to go up the ranks and life goes on in circles. Similarly in personal life, once you get married you somehow start looking for people who have a better life than yours, a better home, a adorable kid, a happening social life, better in-laws, better financial condition etc etc. The vicious circle of life never ends. We remain on the same ground comparing ourselves with people who are better than us or if you are not that shallow, setting goals and aspirations to start off again. To go to the next level. Next level will still be the starting point as you would have new set of dreams by then.

I think this is nothing but human nature. We tend to see ourselves against people who are better off, that too based on our assumption. Reality might not be the same. Probably this is the way society moves towards progression. But the question is how much discontent it adds in our day to day life. Ain’t we suppose to find our own pace? Define our own rules? Be happy with what we have. Isn’t happiness is the ultimate goal? And don’t we keep forgetting it all the time allowing ourselves to be caught up in the rat race called life? 

I did it before, and I am doing it again, vowing to enjoy being on MY GROUND ZERO – what ever it is. Being happy and content with my life right now. No more cribbing and comparing. 

And Yay to completing the blogging challenge :). Happy Me. 

Tagged: , ,

11 thoughts on “Zero Ground Philosophy

  1. tandooripanipurilife April 30, 2014 at 2:46 pm Reply

    Congrats on completing the A to Z challenge OHW but I am kind of sad.. I look forward to reading posts from you every evening.. Please dont stop now that the challenge is over, Okie?? 😊

    • onehonestwriter April 30, 2014 at 3:37 pm Reply

      No infact, regular blogging keeps me happy to 🙂 I am planning to continue in a regular pattern. Probably not daily but alternate days or something, Lets see 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement TP. This means a lot 🙂

  2. The Resurgent Bookworm April 30, 2014 at 8:14 pm Reply

    Congrats on completing the challenge ! 🙂

  3. greenboochi April 30, 2014 at 9:27 pm Reply

    Super job on completing the challenge OHW! 🙂 Loved reading your posts.

    And on ground zero – I think thats the best approach 🙂

    • onehonestwriter May 2, 2014 at 10:38 am Reply

      Thank you GB :). Yup it is, but so difficult to put that in real life 😛

  4. vishalbheeroo April 30, 2014 at 9:39 pm Reply

    Congrats for A to Z challenge. You are a champ. Until recently, was comparing my life to others, college mates who bought car and flat, staying abroad or making it big. I feel its pointless now better compare with the self and as they say, Go with the flow:)
    Love ur post:)

    • onehonestwriter May 2, 2014 at 10:39 am Reply

      Thank you Vishal :). I think yes, each of us is unique in our own ways and have to figure out our own pace in life.

  5. Shine Kapoor May 1, 2014 at 4:17 am Reply

    Congratulations for sailing through the challenge. Be better that what you were, rather than being as good as others, I believe that everyone is special in one’s unique way 🙂

Leave a Reply

