Realisations of a month old mom

No amount of pre reading, discussing, internet surfing prepares you for what is in store once the baby is born or rather when I see bunny in even slight pain. I was totally in control of my emotions through out my pregnancy but first few days when we brought bunny home all my maturity and self control went straight out of the window. I had major emotional meltdowns in the first week of being a mommy.

There is actually something like mother instinct, as much as TBH was comfortable talking to bunny in my tummy or even now when he plays with him, holds him or talk to him, he is so afraid of sleeping besides him. He sleeps on the very edge of the bed adding to my worry that he would definitely fall off the bed one of these nights. I for one who has never handled a baby before, still not great with baby talks I am quite comfortable sleeping besides him and holding him.

I have accepted too soon that diapers are the best invention in the world. Nappy change to me is the most tiring job of this new role. I have talked to multiple people, even doctors and the selfish me only filters in the positive opinions. But I am still all ears and I trust you guys completely, tell me your opinions about diaper usage and preferred and tested brand if any.

Motherhood surely is patience testing, less with the baby and more with the ‘knowledgable’ people around. I relatively had an event less pregnancy with less of relatives around. Both my moms are quite unconventional in this regard and accept the modern ways/treatment/ doctors advice with open arms. But since I came at my mothers place for delivery there have been constant inflow of relatives and visitors and jitne log utni baatein. Everybody consider themselves rightful and experienced enough to constantly guide and advise you on every single thing. After initial resistance and wasting energy in counter arguments you learn to say yes to everything.

Continuing on last point a lot of people still consider Caesarean delivery a kind of taboo. Due to some last minute developments, infact only on the operations table and after being in labour for hours together my normal pregnancy and delivery were converted into a c section, and my doctors assured there will be no trouble in future. I was walking the next day and almost or could do all my routine work myself but people gave all sort of reactions once they heard about my operation. Sympathised to no bounds and in a way shared how I will have so many complications in future blah blah. And they gave no feat to how good I felt or how I was in no pain etc etc.

This one is a cliche I never knew the amount of love I had for bunny until he was in my arms. Through out my pregnancy I kept on planning and discussing how I will make him independent and wouldn’t let motherhood effect me in a bad way. Like I would leave him with the extended family from time to time and go on trips with TBH like I used to do or would have some me time, won’t be totally engrossed with the baby. But now I don’t know if I will be able to leave him even for a day or few hours.

As a new parent you can never get bored of watching your baby while sleeping or even otherwise. Watching his tactics, seeing him making progress as a little human. Seeing him responding on your voice or kinda recognising your face.

Despite being all cool, calm and casual; always defending myself everytime when the sister teased you or the husband pulled your leg….you are surprised at yourself that how much mommy material you actually are.

And that you have turned into a new mommy when you find yourself moving your leg rhythmically even when the baby is not on your lap. A month of managing a new born did that to me.

The way both side of parents, immediate family, siblings and their spouses love your baby is surprising. Specially when you never got a chance to experience such emotions. I see my mom and sister getting dead tired at the end of each day but still looking forward to spend some bunny time, and you feeling guilty of bothering them so much and making everybody’s schedule busier.

You have this new found respect for all parents including yours, specially when they have more than one kid. Bringing a child to the world and being responsible for him/her is no easy feat.

Despite all the changes your body goes through, you go through both emotionally & psychologically; you realise what a smooth phase pregnancy was and at times find yourself secretly wishing that it would have continued along with the special pampering and all the attention.

And how important it is to get some baby time all to yourself. One of the best day in the last month was bunny’s third day in hospital when it was only me and sister managing him. Specially for someone like me who wasn’t very comfortable with the whole baby management stuff. I got comfortable playing and talking to bunny very gradually, and still I am mostly mum in front of others.

For TBH and I who are mostly on the go and love being like that, I think half of my waking time goes in preparing myself for being confined to places for longer periods at least now and how and when we will travel with bunny.

I have realised motherhood has surely made me typo prone, and that I find my mistakes only when I have hit the send button. Probably typo isn’t even the right word, I am typing things that are not even comprehensible.

That’s all for now. To be continued forever, I don’t think the realising stuff would ever end. Once a mommy, always a mommy πŸ™‚

And just like that in a blink of an eye Bunny is one month old today.

Tagged: ,

14 thoughts on “Realisations of a month old mom

  1. greenboochi August 21, 2014 at 10:51 am Reply

    Loved hearing about Bunny and your new mommy stories πŸ™‚

    • onehonestwriter August 25, 2014 at 10:15 pm Reply

      Thanks GB…but I shall be writing Bunny stories some time from now. And big congratulations for the new home πŸ™‚ and a successful inaugural function.

  2. tandooripanipurilife August 21, 2014 at 11:47 am Reply

    aww.. happy one month birthday to sweetie-pie Bunny.

    • onehonestwriter August 26, 2014 at 8:20 am Reply

      Thank you so much πŸ™‚ it’s so nice to see you back with a positive and happy mode :).

  3. Praktan August 21, 2014 at 12:28 pm Reply

    Hello

    First things first
    Happy 1 month birthday to d lil Bunny πŸ™‚

    i havent yet read d whole post
    but thot of writing abt diapers first πŸ™‚
    thrZ dis grp “Cloth Diapering Indi” on FB
    join it
    using cotton nappies/ diapers is not tht difficult!
    d new age cloth diapers r super cool!!!

    thr r other grps on FB also like “breastfeeding support for indian moms” and “Baby wearing India”

    after 5-6 months u can also join “baby led weaning”

    join these grps n ll b much more stable mentally πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    • onehonestwriter August 26, 2014 at 8:25 am Reply

      Thanks so much Praktan for introducing me to this whole new world. I have been reading/ lurking around this groups, and it really seems rocket science to me but I am all set to try this for sure. Please suggest something for new borns if you are an experienced parent.

  4. Prachee August 22, 2014 at 2:59 pm Reply

    Hey OHW…First of all a big congrats to you n TBH…!
    I can so much relate to this post of yours…feels like re-reading my own story… πŸ™‚

    • onehonestwriter August 31, 2014 at 4:55 pm Reply

      And one of these days I am hopping over your blog to read your story πŸ™‚

  5. Nisha August 24, 2014 at 10:39 pm Reply

    Where did my congratulations comment go!!?
    Lots and lots of love to you and bunny! I can feel your happiness through this post. God bless πŸ™‚

  6. Little Fingers August 25, 2014 at 1:21 am Reply

    What she is 1month already. Very happy birthday to the little sweetiepie! For some reason all these are not synching into me. I still see you as a newly married young girlie and now you are mommy . Time is running too fast !!

    • onehonestwriter August 25, 2014 at 8:40 am Reply

      And I still feel newly wed too πŸ™‚ and Bunny is a he πŸ˜‰ I am reading all your updates of the move, kudos to you guys for taking such a big decision and sailing through it….I am praying. Things settle down fast for you guys πŸ™‚

  7. Visha August 25, 2014 at 7:49 pm Reply

    Bunny turned half a dollar old πŸ˜€ badhai ho badhai πŸ™‚

    Zack did not pick Moo up for one whole day fearing he might hurt her 😐 So TBH’s trepidation is understandable, I would say he is much better than Zack, who made me think if he would ever pick her up πŸ˜€

    I used nappy for the first 2 months for Moo. Third month onwards I used diapers only during nights, so that she could have sleep at a stretch. Moo wakes up at the slightest wetness and takes lots of time to fall asleep again, so I chose the diapers. I am paranoid about rashes hence not diapering her 24*7. Huggies Dry gets my vote over Pampers πŸ™‚

    Hmm, I will have be the yes-ok machine once I am back at my sasural.

    I sneaked out for a much needed dinner break with my dad when Moo started sleeping for 3 hours at a stretch. But leaving her for the whole day is unimaginable.

    Haha, its your leg that moves automatically, for me its her lullaby, I seem to be playing the tune day and night πŸ˜†

    Heres wishing you many more blissful days OHW, and hey, the first vaccination shots are just round the corner, just keep looking at bunny’s eyes during the shot πŸ™‚

    • onehonestwriter August 31, 2014 at 4:59 pm Reply

      Thank you,

      How is Zack playing the daddy role now? And Men they behave as if we have been mommies all our lives πŸ˜‰

      Huggies seemed heavier to me, and on a sad note, Bunny did develop a rash and then I switched to nappies during daytime and diaper during night, like Moo bunny also wakes up with even slight wetness and on top of that he is a heavy wetter too :(. But now things are better, btw are you exploring cloth diapering too?

      It would have been a lullaby as well if only I could sing ….

      Bunny’s first vaccination was done in the first week itself during our routine doctor visit, and I am so fattu that I did not even see him, and he is so strong that he dint cry ;). Btw what is about eyes now I am curious.

      • Visha September 1, 2014 at 3:08 pm

        Moo and I are put up at my parents place. Zack is happily living a life of a bachelor now. Will be joining him in October πŸ™‚

        I did want to try cloth diapering, but the cost of a single piece blew me off 😦

        Haha, great!! With me, if I look into Moo’s eyes and say ‘it will be over soon, abhi ho jayega’, her focus shifts from the nurse pinning her down πŸ™‚ Thought that tip would be helpful to you πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

