#Realitycheck #tightslap #disparitykills

My last day at mom’s place and I am rushing to pack all my stuff. Just in one and a half month Bunny’s stuff overshadowed both mine and TBH’s. Numerous gifts from all the visitors, bunny cloths, bunny blankets, bunny toys and all other baby stuff which I am doubtful I will ever use filled couple of big cartons.

Still I felt like buying some more cool stuff of my choice as till then I had not bought a single thing myself, also because as were shifting to my inlaws place which is a small town and I thought I won’t get all that I need there. And I hoarded more unnecessary stuff for future use. I made dad’s driver to stay for an extra hour and took the sister who knew this cool new baby shop. We were both excited and happy with our purchase. We spent a couple of thousands on baby bibs, one cloth diaper, one baby pajama without thinking twice, now that we have bunny at home we are going overboard with everything in our excitement.

We sat in the car to return home. At the traffic signal there was this plastic ball seller. Driver bhaiya who is himself a father of an year old baby boy asked for the price, the lady seller said fifty and he said nahi chiaye. Before the bargaining could start the signal turned green and we moved. But that small incident made me feel miserable, like that was needed, a tight slap, all the shopping happiness gone out of the window, two weeks have passed since then and I could not touch the stuff we bought. Sometimes the disparity just breaks your heart and makes you feel guilty for no apparent reason.

I feel shallow, I feel my feelings are confined to only writing them down, I need to actually do something to feel good. Online payments to Goonj and Milaap are not making me happy these days.

On other note I am thinking twice for every bunny purchase, even being the first time parents that we are full of excitement, I have decided to buy a lot of ‘preloved’ (term using for second hand stuff, got this from a baby forum I have joined and loved it) baby stuff which gets redundant just after few months. I am in for suggestions about what is actually required for babies and first time parents from the experienced mommies out there.

10 thoughts on “#Realitycheck #tightslap #disparitykills

  1. tandooripanipurilife September 24, 2014 at 12:22 pm Reply

    Yesterday PK showed me a video on fb. I was in tears when the video finished.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GT4iEH9viCs

    I have felt so guilty of sitting on rides when other kid was standing next to the ride & selling balloons. I have felt so guilty getting ready at home for a party and at the same time seeing our maid’s daughter helping her in cleaning our floors & bathrooms.
    Unfortunately this is the reality & we cannot run away from it OHW.
    “preloved” – such a beautiful word πŸ™‚

  2. smdeea11 September 24, 2014 at 1:54 pm Reply

    I know the feeling! But the gifts Joy received were already so many and so cool that I haven’t purchased a single item till now. I might do some next month because of a wedding in the family.
    And about the guilt, it never leaves. But PIC is different in this matter. Once he saw a woman begging with a baby. The baby had no footwear. He came back home, took Joy’s footwear, gave her and relaxed. There are many such incidents when I saw PIC doing something like this. But still the guilt factor never leaves!

    • onehonestwriter September 24, 2014 at 3:27 pm Reply

      PIC seems to be a great guy, I did the same I made sure the sister gifts the driver’s son a ball or any toy for that matter, but the permanency of such situations in our country is saddening. Btw I am really hoping to meet you and Joy once I am back in Delhi.

      • smdeea11 September 24, 2014 at 4:25 pm

        When are you coming?

      • onehonestwriter September 24, 2014 at 6:56 pm

        Abhi toh time hai, will keep you posted. Most likely post Diwali or mid nov.

  3. Prachee September 24, 2014 at 2:45 pm Reply

    We can’t help it OHW, this is reality….and we can’t help the guilt feeling either….*sigh*

    This “preloved” thing sounds interesting..!!

    Personally I would advice you not to hoard too many things, as bunny will outgrow most of them very soon…make the purchases as and when you need them….!!
    For the first year..I don’t think I bought anything other than Pram-stroller,few pajamis, and bottle sterilizer….rest everything was gifted..!

    • onehonestwriter September 24, 2014 at 3:47 pm Reply

      Yup since that day I am trying to be thoughtful with every purchase but it’s not only me na, both side of families and his dad are pretty excited considering he is the first in this generation….and the hoarding continues. 😦

      • Prachee September 24, 2014 at 5:56 pm

        In that case…don’t think too much…just enjoy the phase…and tell them to bring something for you too πŸ˜‰
        Its great that you ensured that driver’s kid also get a toy..so keep doing your bit…it may be small but matters for someone… so cheer up girl πŸ™‚

      • onehonestwriter September 24, 2014 at 6:56 pm

        Thanks for the kind words πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

