Little discoveries Part Two – Babywearing and Babywearing Stuff

I know I have mentioned about Babywearing before, it was first a discovery, then very subtly it changed into a passion, something I would like to introduce to each new mom to. I have seen the positive changes it has brought in my life after being a mom.

The biggest fear of every new mom specially first timers are being confined to homes, because how would you take such a small baby out? How would you manage the stroller and all the stuff alone, and Babywearing (practice of carrying your baby in safe and ergonomic carriers) has come to my rescue in this case. Since the time I have started wearing Bunny in slings, wraps etc, by dependency on others specially TBH has drastically reduced. And amazingly its not about carrying babies when out, it has so much more to it.

While I work around managing time and be regular here, I will post what I have written about Babywearing on my website :). Yes, remember I mentioned about opening up my own venture? Its been a little over three months and its been a great experience. I will write in detail about http://www.babywearingstuff.com, later. But if you have time, i would be glad if you can just have a look, browse and read a bit about it. In short it is India’s first Baby Carriers estore, One stop solution to all Babywearing needs. But apart from the business prospering, what I would like more is Parents being introduced to this beautiful bond of Babywearing. If you would open the links mentioned in the below write up, almost all Babywearing related queries would be resolved.

Copying my introduction on my website Blog –

Originally  written on – 21 April 2015,

When me and my other half were expecting ourBabywearing_Bobacarrier little Bunny baby (9 months old today, yay already?), like every other parent we had a lot of dreams about enjoying with our baby. We both envisioned carrying him in the regular baby carriers available in the market. Why you would ask, because one thing that is constant in our life despite everything is being on the go all the time. We wanted a way to carry our baby with us without much hassles.

Like frantic new parents who research on everything that is related to the baby, (thanks to smart phones, faster net, and Google), I started my research on Baby carriers. And realized that the most common ones you see in the market our not so good for your baby – read here why. Unfortunately due to lack of knowledge and available options new parents end up buying the usual narrow based carrier and give up on them as soon as they buy.

Through some blog connections I ended up on this awesomely managed Babywearing India group where the admins and members are doing their best to spread right babywearing in India. They guide new parents in the best possible way and direct them to places where right carriers can be bought.

And that’s where the addiction began. I have been wearing/carrying my little boy since he was four months old and we both love it. It’s comfortable, its keeps my hands free, it’s safe for the baby, it makes roaming around easy, it makes travelling with a baby super manageable and I can just go on and on. Also I can’t complain about all the attention we getJ.  If you want to read more about why you should carry your baby in ergonomic carriers along with scientific research supporting it, read here.

So now I own four carriers all from Indian makers, and they all are great products.  Babywearing Stuff is essentially formed to bring all the Indian makers to one platform. Making not only buying easier for all the interested parents out here but spreading awareness about ergonomically designed baby carriers and how can babywearing help you. It won’t be a wrong if I say that one of the mojor factors of me enjoying motherhood throughly is because of Babywearing.

Welcome to the world of Babywearing !!!

You might feel it’s new concept in India but Google Babywearing and you will be surprised how evolved it already is.

And just if you are wondering wasn’t stroller an option, it definitely was, we bought the lightest, the best one in the market as soon as we were back to Delhi alone with the baby. It’s been used exactly three times, lying untouched from past five months. And I am too lazy to even use to carry groceries.  

OHW

Tagged: , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Little discoveries Part Two – Babywearing and Babywearing Stuff

  1. perspectivesandprejudices June 27, 2015 at 12:55 am Reply

    I’ve always been curious about whether it causes the wearer to develop any back ache after long hours of baby wearing. Does it?

  2. The Girl Next Door June 27, 2015 at 9:50 am Reply

    Thanks to you, I got introduced to the concept of babywearing. I haven’t done it much, but I love it. I am still learning, experimenting, understanding how to go about my jobs while wearing a baby. I need some time before I figure out what I have to say about babywearing. I do love it as of now.

    Congratulations and all the very best for your new venture! Thanks for the links – will read up on them soon.

    BTW, working-class women have been wearing their babies in sarees and dupattas for oh-so-long. Wonder sometimes what’s wrong with that? Why do we need to buy expensive carriers? Can everyone afford such ergonomic but expensive carriers?

    • onehonestwriter June 27, 2015 at 10:11 am Reply

      Nothing wrong with them at all. If worn in right type of fabric – sturdy cotton, preferably handwoven, without any wear and tear. I might be wrong but I recall suggesting you to try wearing Bubboo in a cotton saree when you wanted to start out, right?

      It is just that a lot of moms after wearing in DIY stuff at home like our mom’s best sarees 😛 or sturdy cotton duppatas, find it so helpful that they willingly like to invest in Baby carriers. And also lot of toddlers don’t have the kind of patience to be wrapped so SSC works best. And there are different kind of fabrics, its always better to either read a bit what works and what not and invest in fabric made specially for wrapping to avoid any accidents. But at the end it is about the bond, the closeness, the ease that it brings in a new mom’s life. So yes all kinda of Babywearing with a little caution is welcomed. Actually I have mentioned in my latest blog (in my website) that how it need not be expensive at all. And my next blog again on the website is going to be about inexpensive Babywearing. (Will repost here as well)

      Sorry for the post like response :P, Occupational hazards you see.

  3. popgoesthebiscuit June 29, 2015 at 9:04 pm Reply

    Love baby wearing. I carried Bandar in an ergo till she was about 25 lbs! It got slightly uncomfy towards the end there. But kept me in such good shape. Our walk from school was 1 mile and we had 4 flights of stairs as well. Don’t think I would have survived NYC with a toddler without a carrier. Good luck on the professional front with this. bunny is a cutie

    • onehonestwriter June 30, 2015 at 10:32 am Reply

      I am in instant love with all the Babywearing moms 🙂 And yes I don’t think I can manage Bunny with such ease, will all guests, constant travel if not for Babywearing 🙂

      Thank you so much for your wishes !!!

Leave a Reply

